The Free Media


Nagpur: The United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) on Thursday suspended Russia from the UN Human Rights Council (UNHRC).

This development comes weeks after the Russian troops invaded Ukraine. Putin-led Russia has been suspended over reports of ‘gross and systematic violations of the human rights’ by invading the neighboring country.

93 countries in the Assembly voted in favour of the draft resolution, 24 of them voted against it and 58 other countries abstained. India, Bhutan, Brazil, Bangladesh, Iraq, Malaysia, Singapore, South Africa, Qatar, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka and UAE are amongst those who abstained at the Assembly.

Indian representative to to the UN T.S. Tirumurti in the assembly said, “we continue to remain deeply concerned at the worsening situation.”

The resolution of suspension of the UNHRC membership to the Russian federation was proposed by countries including Ukraine, US, European Union, Several Latin American countries and required two-third majority of the present nations to suspend the country.

Abstentions do not count in the tally of those ‘present and voting.’ The general assembly comprises of 193 members. The resolution was moved by the US.

Share on Social media

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Related Post