1. US rules out bailout for Silicon Valley Bank, auctions reportedly underway 2. Apple CEO Tim Cook backs AR/VR headset, likely to launch this year 3. Infosys’ Mohit Joshi joins Tech Mahindra as MD and CEO

13 more MLAs to resign and join SP: Pawar ahead of UP polls

Sharad Pawar
Spread the love

Nagpur: The Nationalist Congress party supremo Sharad Pawar on Tuesday announced that 13 members of the legislative assembly in Uttar Pradesh will be joining the Samajwadi Party.

The statement comes after Uttar Pradesh labour minister Swami Prasad Maurya resigned from the Yogi Adityanath-led state government and joined the Samajwadi Party ahead of the state assembly polls. In a letter, Maurya said that he is resigning from the party due to Yogi-led government’s ‘negligence’ towards Dalits, farmers, small and medium scale businesses and unemployed youths in the state.

After him, three other BJP MLAs in the state followed and quit the party. Tilhar MLA Roshan Lal Verma, Bilhaur MLA Bhagwati Prasad Sagar and Tindwari MLA Brajesh Prajapati, resigned from the Saffron party on Tuesday. Pawar announced that in Uttar Pradesh they (NCP) will be contesting elections along with Samajwadi Party and other smaller parties.

Claim Free Bets

He further added that the people of Uttar Pradesh are looking for a ‘change.’ “We will surely see that change in the state. Communal polarization is being done in Uttar Pradesh ahead of Assembly elections. The people of the state will give a befitting reply to this,” he said while addressing the media.

The NCP supremo also mentioned that the party is in talks with the Congress and Mamata Banerjee led Trinamool Congress for a possible alliance in Goa.

The Election Commission on Saturday announced election schedules for five poll bound states – Manipur, Uttarakhand, Goa, Uttar Pradesh and Punjab. The Assembly election in Uttar Pradesh will be held in seven phases from February 7 onwards.



    All Posts

    Related Post

    View All

    Service charge at restaurants/hotels now optionable

    July 5th, 2022 | DRISHTI SHARMA

    Spread the loveNagpur: The Central Consumer Protection Authority (CCPA) on Monday barred hotels and restaurants for levyin...

    Bajrang Dal and Vishwa Hindu Parishad attacks Madhya...

    December 7th, 2021 | DRISHTI SHARMA

    Spread the loveNagpur: A Catholic school at Ganj Basoda tehsil of Vidisha district in Madhya Pradesh was vandalised by the...

    Aurangabad takes strict measures to ramp up vaccinat...

    November 23rd, 2021 | DRISHTI SHARMA

    Spread the loveNagpur: The Delhi Sikh Gurudwara Management Committee (DSGMC) on Sunday wrote to the President of India Ram...